Dr A Francklin (Lead Practitioner Science)
Mr P Blair (Subject Leader for Biology)
Miss L Collins (Subject Leader for Chemistry)
Mrs V Fielding
Mrs D Kanasewich
Mrs A Goldswain
Mr P Ayling (Subject Leader for Physics)
Mr M Sayer
Mrs K House

Mrs S Munday (Technician)
Ms H Holman (Technician)

Science is taught in 6 specialised laboratories which are equipped with interactive whiteboards. The Science Department is equipped so that practical work is embedded into lessons where appropriate. Lessons are based on the philosophy that students should enjoy and achieve in Science. Every Science lesson, whatever the topic, aims to motivate students to learn.

At Key Stage 3 the National Curriculum Programme of Study is followed. Topics studied include:

Yr7 Cells; Acids & Alkalis; Energy; Classification; Particles; Forces; Differences; Chemical Reactions
Yr8 Environment; Metals; Energy Transfer; Genetics & Evolution; Periodic Table; Moving Around

Students entering Key Stage 4 Science in Year 9 follow a 3 years course following one of the AQA specifications. Currently:

Yrs9, 10 & 11 – either GCSE Combined Science: Trilogy (8464) - the old 'Double Science'; or GCSE Biology (8461), GCSE Chemistry (8462) and GCSE Physics (8463). All examinations are sat at the end of Yr11

In the Sixth Form courses are offered are OCR A-Level Biology (H420); OCR A-Level Chemistry (H432) and A-Level Physics (7408).